No one logged in. Log in | My Account

RTO Boot Camp 23-Mar-2018

RTO Boot Camp coming soon..... ..

RTO Events and Training for 2013 25-Feb-2012

Watch out for our new Professional Development Events.........coming soon ..

Sample image


Do I want to be a RTO?
I want to open a RTO
Why Use a RTO Consultant?
Help for my RTO
RTO Compliance
RTO Coaching
RTO Management
RTO Administration
RTO Assessment Tools
RTO Jargon Debugger
RTO E-Learning

New RTOs

What are right standards for me? Who is my registering body?

The answer to that depends upon which who your registering body is, as each registering body determines which standards are applicable to the RTO's they administer.

There are two general sets of standards, the AQTF2010 Standards (the AQTF Essential Conditions and Standards for Initial Registration and the AQTF Essential Conditions and Standards for Continuing Registration one is the standard to be used at initial registration and the other is to be used at all subsequent registration audits, typically year one, year five and at five year intervals after that.  

The second set of standards are the Federal Legislative Instruments known as the Standards for NVR Registered Training Organisations 2011. (NVR Standards)

RTO's that operate in multiple states or are registered as CRICOS colleges will be administered by the Australian Skills Quality Authority, and are thus required to comply with ASQA requirements and with the Federal Government Legislative instruments known as the NVR standards.

RTO's that solely operate in Victoria at registration, are administered by the Victorian Recognition and Qualification Authority (VRQA), and the relevant standards are the AQTF2010, Victoria also has the additional requirement of the VRQA Guidelines for VET Providers.

RTO's that solely operation in Western Australia, are administered by the Training Recognition Council (TAC), and the applicable standards are the AQTF2010.

Until at least December, 2011, RTO's that operate solely in South Australia, are administered by the South Australian Department of Further Education Employment Science and Technology (DFEEST), and are required to meet the requirements of the AQTF2010.  After December 2011 (and this date is expected to change, South Australian RTO's will transfer their registration to ASQA)

Until approximately March, 2012, RTO's that operate solely in Queensland, will be administered by the Queensland Department of Education Training and Employment Recognition Council (TERC), and will be required to meet the needs of the AQTF2010 standards.  After March 2012, Queensland RTO's will transfer their registration to ASQA).

RTO's in Tasmania, the ACT, the Northern Territory and NSW have already transferred their administration responsibilities to ASQA, since 1st July, 2011.


Accrediting courses

Course accreditation is done where an organisation or a person has determined that there is a strong need for a vocational course that is not already addressed in the existing or soon to be existing training packages.

Accredited courses can be as short as a single unit of competency, or as long as a full certificate/diploma course.

 They clearly must contain some unique units of competency but can also contain imported units of competency from existing training packages.

Some RTO's accredit their courses with VETAB. This means that the course conforms to the National Accreditation Principles and to the Australian Qualifications Framework.

This means:

  • the course content and standards are appropriate for the qualification
  • it meets the purpose for which it was developed
  • it does not replicate a training package qualification

Courses can be accredited for up to 5 years.

The aim is to ensure the accredited course does not simply duplicate a training package qualification. While courses can include some national competency standards, new courses are only accredited if they can be shown to be sufficiently different and not lead to or replicate a national training package qualification.

All accredited courses are listed on the National Training Information Service (NTIS) database at .

For more information on course accreditation visit the Vocational Education and Training Accreditation Board (VETAB) website at